Heidegger's Bible Handbook: 1 Corinthians: Interpreters

HOLY FATHERS: None separately.



REFORMED: Biermann,[1] Heidegger, Martyr, Meyer,[2] Musculus, Pareus, Zwingli. English: Lightfoot, Morton, Rollock, Sclater, Sampson, Sibbes.[3]


LUTHERAN: Andreas, Calixt, Hœkerus, Luther, Melanchthon, Mylius, Pappus,[4] Runge,[5] Weinrich,[6] Spangenberg, Spener.


ROMAN CATHOLIC: Contzen, Covillonius,[7] Hofmeister, Stevartius, Stapleton, Valdesius.[8]


ADD the Interpreters of all the Books of the New Testament, and also of the Pauline Epistles, above.

[1] Johann Biermann (c. 1675-1721) was a Dutch Reformed minister and scholar. He served as Professor of Oriental Languages and Church History at Herborn (1704-1709). [2] Sebastian Meyer (1465-1545) began his career as a Franciscan, joining the Reformation in Switzerland. He wrote commentaries on Galatians, 1 and 2 Corinthians, and Revelation. [3] Richard Sibbes (1577-1635) was an English churchman (a Puritan, but not a Separatist) and author. Theologically, he was in the tradition of Perkins and Ames. [4] Johann Pappus (1549-1610) was a German Lutheran theologian. He served as Professor of Hebrews (1568-1578), and then Professor of Theology (1578-1610), at Strassburg. [5] David Runge (1564-1604) was a German Lutheran theologian, serving as Professor of Theology at Wittenberg (1595-1604). He commented on several books of the Bible, including Genesis, Romans, and 1 and 2 Corinthians. [6] Georg Weinrich (1554-1617) was a Polish Lutheran theologian, serving as Professor of Theology at Leipzig (1599-1617). He wrote commentaries on all the Pauline Epistles. [7] Joannes Covillonius (1523-1581) was a Flemish Jesuit theologian. [8]Juan de Valdés (c. 1490-1541) was a Spanish Catholic Biblical scholar, religious writer, and reformer.