top of page

De Moor 4:4: The Ten Names of God

Updated: Feb 12, 2019


They commonly assert Ten Hebraic Names, following the Jews and JEROME, who in his operibus, tome 3, in Epistola ad Marcellam, pages 94, 95, writes: “I had said that among the Hebrew in the place of the God of heaven is used שַׁדַּי/Shaddai…and that it is one of the ten Names by which among the Hebrews God is called. Thou didst immediately most earnestly ask that I arrange for thee all the Names with their interpretations. I will do what thou hast asked. The First Name of God is אֵל/El…. Then, אֱלֹהִים/Elohim, and אֱלֹהֵי/Elohe, which God is also called. The Fourth, צְבָאוֹת/Sabbaoth…. The Fifth, עֶלְיוֹן/Elyon. The Sixth, אֲשֶׁר אֶהְיֶה, Asher Ehyeh, which is found in Exodus, He that is sent me. The Seventh, אֲדֹנָי/Adonai, which we generally call a lord. The Eighth, יָהּ/Jah, which is only used of God…. The Ninth, the τετραγράμματον/Tetragrammaton, which is ἀνεκφώνητον, that is, they thought it ineffable, which is written with these letters, י/jod, ה/he, ו/waw, ה/he…. The Tenth, which was mentioned above, שַׁדַּי/Shaddai.” Thus it is also read in ORIGEN, on Psalm 2, opera, tome 2, page 539, Δέκα γὰρ ὀνόμασι παρ᾽ Ἑβραίοις ὀνομάζεται ὁ Θεός, for God is called by ten names among the Hebrews.

52 views1 comment
bottom of page