top of page

Heidegger's Bible Handbook: Deuteronomy: Chapter Summary

The names of the book, משנה/Mishneh, Δευτέρωσις/Deuterosis, Δευτερόνομος/Deuteronomos, ספר תוקחות, Sepher Tokahoth, 1. The Argument of the Book, 2. The Scope, the confirmation of the doctrine of the law through repetition, and the commendation of the reading and observation of the same, 3. Chronology, 4. The four principal parts of the Book: I. A repetition of the preceding history, composed to acquire the attention and good will of the people, who are about to hear the law again (Deuteronomy 1-4). II. A repetition of the Mosaic legislation, in which the duty of the people, as long as they are dwelling in possession of the promised land, is depicted in explicit detail (Deuteronomy 5-26). III. The sanction and solemn confirmation of the law hitherto repeated (Deuteronomy 27-30). IV. Moses’ Testament and Death (Deuteronomy 31-34). A Synoptic Table, and the Interpreters of the book, ancient, Reformed, Lutheran, Roman Catholic, and Hebrew, 5.

41 views1 comment

1 Comment

Dr. Dilday
Dr. Dilday
Dec 12, 2019

Join us for Johann Heinrich Heidegger's brief introductory survey of the Book of Deuteronomy.

Have a look at some of the highlights from Old Testament Survey:

"What is the Old Testament about? Part 1" ( scroll down for video)

"What is the Old Testament about? Part 2" ( scroll down for video)

bottom of page